i t z i e . d i a r y l a n d . c o m

Seven Pounds of Apples // 2002-11-18


We have been testing to see how long it takes to get a live person on the phone in all of our local clinics. So at work today, I got to call about 20 different doctor offices, sit on hold for a while and then I got to enjoy the perverse pleasure of hanging up on them when they finally answered. I enjoyed the hanging up part a little too much. What does that say about me?

The cafeteria at work offers one vegetarian option every day. There are certain dishes I really hate and others that I really look forward to (yes, I actually look forward to some hospital cafeteria food, and yes, I'm too lazy to pack a lunch and bike it in). One of the ones I really hate is the "Five Treasure Stir Fry" - which is, more or less, salty, limp vegetables over rice. Today I fell for the cafeteria people's most devious trick yet. They had a new vegetarian item on the menu! They've been trying to give us some more menu options lately. It was called "Thai Stir Fry." It looked a lot like the Five Treasure Stir Fry, but it had sesame seeds on it. So I ordered it. It was essentially Five Treasure Stir Fry with sesame seeds on it. They'd simply renamed it to make me try it again! It didn't taste anything like any Thai food I have ever had. Bastards.

Tonight, I took the boy out for his birthday. It was fun. I didn't do a bad job, I don't think. This was the first time I'd actually been dating someone on their birthday. Pumpkin-Fucker and I broke up long before his birthday and we got together a few days after mine. Otherwise, there was only Maggot-Head, whom I wasn't ever officially dating anyway. So yeah, The Boy is really only about the second or third person I've ever dated depending on how you count it.

Speaking of Pumpkin-Fucker, we talked last night. He lives in Chicago now. I'm going to be going through or to Chicago in January on my big trip. I'm not sure if I will visit him or not. Despite the animosity apparent in his post-breakup-nickname, I don't really hate him anymore. I feel somewhat ambivalent about seeing him again. I think it would be pretty damn awkward, but then I also think I'd feel kind of guilty for not visiting him if I was in the area as well. I'll have to think about it some more, I guess.

prev & next